How to Be a Girl

I am interrupting my regularly scheduled post because I have started (and finished) a new podcast, and I am super excited about it. How to Be a Girl was created by a single mom of a transgender 6-year-old girl and recorded in collaboration with her daughter. The mom, Marlo Mack*, has been writing a blog called gendermom about life with her kid since June, 2013, and started the podcast a year later. So far there are six episodes, and they are roughly audio versions of her first blog posts. I found gendermom just yesterday after seeing a link to a recent post on meeting Laverne Cox and breezed through the first ten entries. I don’t know how it took me this long to find Mack’s site, as I have kept up with several mommy blogs of gender creative/transgender kids over the years. (My favorite is Raising My Rainbow, a 4 1/2-year-old blog-turned-book by Lori Duron, the mother of a now-8-year-old gender nonconforming son.) Though I had read the posts that corresponded with the six episodes of How to Be a Girl, the podcast was no worse for it. Mack weaves together her narration with recordings of her daughter. While the mother tells of people questioning how her daughter could know her gender so young, the girl shares facts about butterflies and hummingbirds. In another episode it’s clothing talk against a backdrop of a warring princess and fairy. If you want something even more spectacular than mere audio, watch this animated version of the first episode. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to read everything else this woman has ever written.

*This is her chosen pseudonym. She produces the podcast and operates her blog anonymously to protect her daughter.

Style: Narrative, Interview

If You Like: The Longest Shortest Time, Strangers, Radio Diaries, Love + Radio, Fugitive Waves

Favorite Episode: Episode 1, “Mama, I’m a Girl”

One thought on “How to Be a Girl

Leave a Reply

